A quick pan of “Minority Report’s” pilot episode (2015)

The first episode of television’s “Minority Report” (2015) has all the bells and whistles of its 2002 cinematic source material, but little of its skilled storytelling.  I’d rate it a 6 out of 10, and that probably reflects my positive bias connected with my love for the classic film.

The show looks great — the special effects are well thought out, well rendered, and in abundance.  Visually and in terms of its fictional technology, this is terrific way to revisit the future that was painstakingly envisioned for the fantastic movie.  The show is an earnest follow-up, too; you can tell that the writers respect the film and were reaching for its unique vibe and its fast-paced suspense.

Regrettably, the pilot here just doesn’t suggest that this will be an unusually good show.  The writing and directing are average, at best, and some of the acting is downright poor.  A hastily conceived plot features one of the movie’s plot-driving psychic “precogs” rushing to intervene in future murders, which he can still predict, like some kind of lone, nonviolent, pre-emptive vigilante.  A cheesy covert partnership develops between him and a tough-and-sassy-but-sexy, single, female cop.  And blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.  Cue the bad dialogue.  I honestly think my friends and I could have come up with something better than that.

Oh well.  It can’t all be “A” material.  At least, that’s what I’ve been telling people who bitch about my jokes on Facebook.  And this was just the pilot — maybe the show will get better.

MinorityReportFOX-ad

5 thoughts on “A quick pan of “Minority Report’s” pilot episode (2015)

  1. SpokeAnna says:

    I quite agree that the dialogue could be better, that the love of the movie was there. The vigilante angle was frustrating, and a poor introduction.

    But: the cop is a black woman. Casting the cop as a black woman and her boss as a Hispanic man is pretty huge, and pretty awesome. (Her clothes could be less revealing of her ample busty bosom, but you can’t win them all.)

    I have watched a few episodes of this show, and I agree: I hope it gets better.

    There are a few things I like about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wreichard says:

    Disappointing, but glad to know. I’m a sucker for PKD.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

