I am so trippin’ right now.

So anyone close to me who’s asked me why I became a writer (and a horror fan) knows that one of the reasons is my awesome childhood memories — telling ghost stories under the front porch at the house of Jason and Adam Huhn, across the street in rural New York, along with my next-door neighbor Shawn Degnan.  Those were some damn fun summer nights … and ghost stories were a perfect way to end a long day of exploring the woods, trading baseball cards or playing basketball in the hoop that Mr. Huhn put up for all the kids on the street.  I used to beg my Mom to let me stay out longer.

Jason, Adam and Shawn and were my closest boyhood friends.  Our quartet could easily be the 80’s equivalent of the kids in “Stand By Me.”  Or, maybe better yet, we were adventurous enough to be “twinners” for a certain Ka-Tet in Mid-World: Roland Deschain, Cuthbert Allgood, Alain Johns and Jamie De Curry.  (Seeing how I was an obnoxious chatterbox a preteen, I’m pretty sure I would be Cuthbert.)

Well, tonight Adam found me via this blog, and wrote to say hello!  (I’d tried previously to find the guys via social media, but to no avail.)  Adam even asked if I remembered telling ghost stories under the porch!

This Internet thingy can be a good thing, I tell ya!

 

download (1)

 

Leave a Reply

