Throwback Thursday: the 1982 3-D broadcast of “Revenge of the Creature!”

Here’s another Throwback Thursday post that is a relatively obscure, but might be a treat for my fellow HNAM’s (Horror Nerds Approaching Midlife).  Who remembers the nationwide syndicated broadcast of 1955’s “Revenge of the Creature” in 3-D in early July 1982?

Your parents had to pick up the 3-D glasses for you from a local Pizza Hut or 7-Eleven, I think …  This was a pretty big deal, especially if you were a nine-year-old boy, as I was.  My good old Dad got the glasses for me, and he patiently explained to me how depth perception the 3-D technology worked.  Good Lord, how I looked forward to this.

And I wasn’t disappointed.  I remember the effects being actually pretty damned good.  I was thrilled.  It was my first 3-D movie.  (In fact, it might actually have been the only 3-D movie I’ve ever seen …)

The Neato Coolville website has a far better account of the event than I could write — check it out right here:

http://neatocoolville.blogspot.com/2007/10/1982-television-event-revenge-of.html

The movie itself, in 3-D format, is also on Youtube.  I’d love to view it on my laptop, but I don’t have any 3-D glasses handy.  I might have to rectify that with my next Amazon purchase.

 

 

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: the 1982 3-D broadcast of “Revenge of the Creature!”

  1. I don’t remember the Creature movie done, but our locale played the original King Kong in 3-D. Maybe they had different old movies they showed in different regions.
    Also, I had just turned 17, and the alcohol and pot helped the effect a lot. The half hit of acid someone offered me might have affected the effect, too. (Glad that never made it to a habit.)
    By the way, I have a pair of 3-D glasses I can spare… Came with a DVD I bought a couple of years ago.

    Like

Leave a Reply

