Throwback Thursday: 70’s-era water pistols

I loved these cheap toys when I was a tot in the late 1970’s.  They were a favorite gift from any aunt who might be visiting during the summer.

Some websites list these as 1960’s toys; I’m guessing the Chinese manufacturers were simply using the same molds a decade later.

I seem to remember cracking or breaking one on more than one occasion, which is weird, because they weren’t made of glass.  I also needed an adult to fill them for me, when I was very little — you had to fill them via a tiny hole in the back that was plugged by a small plastic stopper.  It required a little finesse, as you had to run only a thin stream of water from the faucet to make that work.

I distinctly remember that dark blue Luger that you see at the bottom.

 

 

7a4c4c03b58574e8411ffea01c44c892

d4b4d62dbf4058b82bab9e803c88229e

s-l225

 

 

Leave a Reply

