Throwback Thursday: the Randotti Skulls!

So you guys saw my embarrassingly failed DIY glow-in-the-dark skull project for Halloween … this is the kind of thing I would have loved to create.  Behold the glow-in-the-dark “Randotti Skull,” a bizarre knickknack that would be treasured by any little boy who loved spooky things.

I vaguely remember that I snatched mine up at a yardsale in the early 1980’s.  It was some kind of very heavy molded plaster, and it shined brightly in the dark.  God, how I loved this thing.

A little cursory Internet research surprised me — this is actually a reasonably well known collector’s item.  It was one of several “Randotti Skulls” (three, I think) that were available for purchase only at … Disneyland.  They are currently selling for for $50 on eBay, and other bloggers remember theirs as fondly as I do.  And the name of the skulls is evidently a gag running back to when these products were first licensed to Disney back in 1956.  There is no Italian sculptor named “Randotti;” that’s just an amalgamation of the names of the skulls’ stateside creators, Randy and Dotti Smith.

When other men dream of getting rich one day, they visualize boats and sports cars.  I increasingly imagine a room full of novelty monster toys that I had either had or wanted to have when I was growing up.

 

vintage-randotti-glow-dark-skull-847_1_f10fe43d30381f3466b5fab274fd651c

 

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: the Randotti Skulls!

  1. reocochran says:

    Great idea for a project and always like Halloween and all the trimmings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

