Throwback Thursday: the Monogram (?) glow-in-the-dark Godzilla model!

Now here is a treasure from my 1980’s boyhood — the glow-in-the-dark Godzilla model.  When I sat down to pull up some background on this, I first thought that this was one of the Aurora model kits.  It indeed started out as one.  But I think it’s more likely that I had the one produced from the same mold by Monogram, which was released in 1978.  (Mine was a Christmas or birthday present around 1980 or so.)

This was a sturdy model, as it survived just fine amid the debris of that disastrous desk I kept as a second grader.  And its glow-in-the-dark head and hands were damn cool.

Dear God, did I love this thing.

 

6989703fb710ab9ace046497776c056a

monogram-1

bfb5e8fc3de5d0ac9eee923d8b43bb99

Leave a Reply

