Throwback Thursday: the “Orcus” collectible miniature.

I did a Throwback Thursday post a while back about 1980’s-era T.S.R. fantasy miniatures — the kind you’d use in a game of Dungeons & Dragons.  “Orcus” here subsequently popped up in a Google image search.  (God only knows what I was looking for at the time.)

I had this guy in my collection as a kid.  The paint job I gave him left him looking quite inferior to the one pictured.  You can love a hobby without being good at it, and, I swear to you, my miniatures were not skillfully painted.  (My Dad and my older brother were just too kind to tell me.)  My Orcus looked like he’d been hand-painted by an epileptic child on a dangerously racing, rickety train with an idiot conductor that was about to fly right off the tracks.  (Like the “Trump Train,” for example.)  I wanted to paint him a fiery, blood-colored red, but he kinda just turned out with a bright, happy, flashy red, like maybe one of the Village People went trick-or-treating as the devil one year.

The Interwebs tell me that Orcus was a longstanding Big Bad in the D&D universe.  But he had no particular connection to the orcs.  He was the god of the undead, and he was named after the classical “Orcus,” one of the gods of the Roman underworld.

See how cool he looks below, when he’s properly painted?  Oh, well.

 

orcus

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: the “Orcus” collectible miniature.

  1. WHAT a flashback! I happily spent many hours playing D&D in my 20’s, in the green room of one of the dinner theatres I played when I was “paying my dues” as an actor — introduced by a younger actor (and dungeon master).

    Once a show is up and running, the actors have a great deal of free time, and dinner theatres are rarely located places that are – shall we say – fascinating explorations. We loved the imagination required to play, even many of us who were older and probably wouldn’t have played otherwise.

    Our games focused more on magic and spells and quests than demons and dragons, so I’ve never seen this piece before, but I owned (and painted) more than a few little figures until the show moved onto theatres several states away and we lost our young dungeon master. Haven’t thought about it in decades!

    Thanks for the memories.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

